Virginia Tech® home

Vecellio Distinguished Lecturers

Construction Engineering and Management

Past Speakers


  • 2022 R. David Curfman
    Chief Engineer and Assistant Commander for Planning, Design and Construction of Naval Facilities Engineering Systems Command United State Navy (Link To the Video)
  • 2021 DJ Gribbin
    Founder of Madrus, LLC (Link To the Video)
  • 2019 Ross Myers
    Chairman & CEO of Allan Myers, Inc.(Link To the Video)
  • 2018 Wayne A. Crew
    General Secretary of the National Academy of Construction (Link To the Video)
  • 2017 Kristina L. Swallow
    National President of ASCE (Link To the Video)
  • 2016 Hon. Thomas Davis Rust (Link to the Video)
    Vice Chairman of the Board of Directors, Pennoni Consulting Engineers
  • 2015 Darrell E. Waters (Link To the Video)
    Senior VP for Fluor and Project Executive & President Tappan Zee Constructors, LLC
  • 2014  Stephen T. Ayers (Link To the Video)
    The Architect of the Capitol
  • 2013  Robert Prieto  (Link To the Video)
    Senior VP for Fluor
  • 2012  Janice L. Tuchman
    Editor-in-Chief for Engineering News-Record
  • 2011  John R. Hillman
    Founder/President of HC Bridge Company, LLC.
  • 2010  Michael C. Vorster
    Emeritus Professor, Virginia Tech
  • 2009  Paul E. Torgersen (1931-2015)
    Professor/Dean/President, Virginia Tech
  • 2008  Henry Petroski (1942-2023)
    Professor of Duke University
  • 2007  Linda Figg
    President/CEO, Figg Engineering Group
  • 2006  Ronald L. Johnson
    MG, Deputy Chief of Engineers, USACE
  • 2005  Hans Van Winkle
    Director of CII
  • 2004  Patricia D. Galloway
    National President of ASCE
  • 2003  Philip A. Shucet
    Commissioner of VDOT
  • 2002  Ted C. Kennedy (1930-2012)
    Chairman of BE&K, Inc.
  • 2001  G. Wayne Clough
    President of Georgia Tech